March 2023

Friend Wins Cinematography Oscar for All Quiet on the Western Front

A nightmarish look at the horrors of World War I directed by Edward Berger, All Quiet on the Western Front allowed James Friend, ASC, BSC to examine a terrible moment in history with an unflinching eye. Powerful, and often shocking, the resulting images are also beautiful and memorable. “It’s not my birthday, but I feel like it is,” said Friend with a grin in his acceptance speech during the 95th Annual Academy Awards ceremony, held on March 12 in the Dolby Ballroom at Ovation Hollywood. Thanking the Academy for the honor, the other nominees for their inspiring work, Berger, and his crew for “making me look better than I am.” Friend’s competition for the evening was Darius Khondji, ASC, AFC (for Bardo, False Chronicle of a Handful of...more

James Friend ASC BSC Oscar Western Front 2023 sm