2022 Winners Announced During Creative Arts Emmy Ceremonies

ASC members Gary Baum and Checco Varese among the honorees for their expert camerawork. Eleven Society members nominated.

At top, from left, ASC members and 2022 Emmy winners Checco Varese and Gary Baum.

Society members Autumn Durald Arkapaw, Gary BaumAva Berkofsky, Mark Doering-Powell, Wolfgang HeldGregory Middleton, Donald A. MorganM. David Mullen, Ben RichardsonSteven V. Silver and Checco Varese were among those announced on July 12 as nominees for the Television Academy’s 74th Annual Emmy Awards. 

The winners were announced on the evenings of September 3 and 4 during the Creative Arts Emmy ceremonies held at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles. These categories honor outstanding artistic and technical achievement in a variety of program genres, series guest performances, and exceptional work in animation, reality programming, and documentaries.

Below are all the winners in the Emmy categories that honor expert cinematography. (A complete list of all 2022 nominees in every category is available here.)

Nominated this year for his multi-cam work on How I Met Your Father, this marks Gary Baum ASC’s 11th Emmy nod and third win. He was previously recognized for the series Gary Unmarried, 2 Broke Girls, Mike & Molly (for which he won in 2015), The Millers, Superior Donuts and Will & Grace (for which he won in 2018).  

Recognized for his work on the limited series Dopesick, this was the first Emmy nomination and win for Checco Varese, ASC.

Outstanding Cinematography For A Multi-Camera Series
How I Met Your Father • “Pilot” • Hulu • 20th Television
Gary Baum, ASC, Director of Photography

Outstanding Cinematography for A Single-Camera Series (Half-Hour)
Atlanta • “Three Slaps” • FX • FX Productions
Christian Sprenger, Director of Photography

Outstanding Cinematography for A Single-Camera Series (One Hour)
Euphoria • “The Theater and Its Double” • HBO/HBO Max • HBO in association with ADD Content Agency | HOT | TCDY Productions, Dreamcrew, Tiny Goat, A24 and The Reasonable Bunch
Marcell Rév, HCA, Director of Photography

Outstanding Cinematography for A Limited Or Anthology Series Or Movie
Dopesick • “Breakthrough Pain” • Hulu • 20th Television, Danny Strong Productions, John Goldwyn Productions, The Littlefield Company
Checco Varese, ASC, Director of Photography

Outstanding Cinematography for A Nonfiction Program
100 Foot Wave • “Chapter IV – Dancing With God” • HBO/HBO Max • HBO in association with Topic Studios, Library Films, Amplify Pictures, React Films and Cinetic
Mike Prickett, Director of Photography
Laurent Pujol, Cinematography by

Outstanding Cinematography for A Reality Program
Life Below Zero • “Fire in The Sky” • National Geographic • BBC Studios for National Geographic
Danny Day, Director of Photography
Michael Cheeseman, Director of Photography
Simeon Houtman, Director of Photography

An edited presentation of the 2022 Creative Arts Emmy Awards ceremonies will be aired Saturday, September 10, at 8:00 PM EDT/PDT on FXX.

The 74th Emmy Awards will be broadcast live from the Microsoft Theater on Monday, September 12 (8:00-11:00 PM EDT/5:00-8:00 PM PDT) on NBC and will stream live on Peacock.


Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

Print Edition   Digital Edition
December 2022 AC Magazine Cover November 2022 AC Magazine Cover October 2022 AC Magazine Cover