More than 600 guests were on hand for the “Summer Splash.”

ASC Celebrates Summer With Annual BBQ

The Society welcomed its members, advertisers, sponsors and colleagues to the Clubhouse on June 8 for “Summer Splash” party.

ASC Staff

The event, sponsored by Cinelease, Cinelease Studios, Angénieux and LRX, attracted more than 600 guests.

Some of the many ASC members spotted during the festivities included Mat Beck, Bill Bennett, Christopher Chomyn, Richard Crudo, Dean Cundey, Roger Deakins, Michael Goi, Robert Elswit, Steven Fierberg, Markus Förderer, Gil Hubbs, Baz Idoine, Kira Kelly, Ed Lachman, Stephen Lighthill, Suki Medenčević, Seamus McGarvey, Erik Messerschmidt, Chuck Minsky, James Neihouse, Wally Pfister, Steven Poster, Cynthia Pusheck, Christopher Probst, Steven Shaw, John Simmons, Dave Stump, Kees van Oostrum, Amy Vincent and Roy Wagner.

Announcing the Edeson flagpole dedication were (from left) ASC President Shelly Johnson, ASC First Vice President Charlie Lieberman, Kari C. Wruck. Steve Wruck, H. Thomas Jones and Brian Rooney. (Photo by Mimmy Loftin)

During the party, ASC President Shelly Johnson and ASC First Vice President Charlie Lieberman announced the dedication of a flagpole that was originally installed at the home of Arthur Edeson, ASC in Malibou Lake. Thanks to donations from the H. Thomas Jones family and Edeson’s niece, Kari C. Wruck, and the help of Brian Rooney, this unique piece of history now has a home in the Clubhouse courtyard.

Edeson was a founding member of the ASC whose credits included Frankenstein, The Maltese Falcon and Casablanca.

A brass plaque commemorating the gift was installed on the flagpole, which now flies a custom ASC banner.

The crews from Cinelease and LRX at the Clubhouse.

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

July 2024 AC Magazine Cover
June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover