10 ASC Members Among Emmy Nominees

Winners in cinematography categories to be announced Sept. 9-10 during AMPAS Creative Arts ceremonies.

ASC Staff

UPDATE: Originally scheduled for September, the Emmy Awards ceremonies have been postponed because of the SAG and WGA strikes.

The 75th annual Primetime Emmy Awards nominations were revealed by the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences on the morning of July 12, with the American Society of Cinematographers well represented among those honored for their work

In order to be eligible for this year’s awards, programs had to have aired between June 1, 2022, and May 31, 2023.

Among other milestones for ASC members, this year marks the 13th Emmy nomination for three-time past winner Gary Baum, (How I Met Your Father) and the first for Dean Cundey (The Mandalorian) and Jody Lee Lipes (Dead Ringers). Adriano Goldman has now earned five nominations for The Crown, while M. David Mullen earned his fifth nod for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel. Both have previously won twice for their respective shows.

In addition to the categories for cinematography, ASC member Andrij Parekh earned a nomination for Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series recognizing his work in the HBO series Succession episode “America Decides” which was photographed by Katelin Arizmendi, who also shot three other episodes in the show’s forth season. Parekh previously won for Succession in this same category in 2020.

Here are the nominees in each category for camerawork (a complete list with all categories can be found here):

Outstanding Cinematography for a Series (Half-Hour)

Atlanta • “Andrew Wyeth. Alfred’s World” • FX • FX Productions
Christian Sprenger, ASC

Barry • “Tricky Legacies” • HBO Max • HBO in association with Alec Berg and Hanarply
Carl Herse

How I Met Your Father • “Daddy” • Hulu • 20th Television
Gary Baum, ASC

The Mandalorian • “Chapter 20: The Foundling” • Disney+ • Lucasfilm Ltd.
Dean Cundey, ASC

Only Murders in The Building • “I Know Who Did It” • Hulu • 20th Television
Chris Teague

Schmigadoon! • “Something Real” • Apple TV+ • Broadway Video / Universal Television in association with Apple
Jon Joffin, ASC

Outstanding Cinematography for a Series (One Hour)

Andor • “Rix Road” • Disney+ • Lucasfilm Ltd.
Damián García

The Crown • “Mou Mou” • Netflix • Left Bank Pictures and Sony Pictures Television for Netflix
Adriano Goldman, ASC, BSC, ABC

House of the Dragon • “The Lord of the Tides” • HBO Max • HBO in association with 1:26 Pictures, Bastard Sword, and GRRM Productions
Catherine Goldschmidt

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel • “Four Minutes” • Prime Video • Amazon Studios
M. David Mullen, ASC

The Old Man • “I” • FX • 20th Television in association with The Littlefield Company
Sean Porter

Wednesday • “Woe What a Night” • Netflix • A Netflix Series / An MGM Television Production
David Lanzenberg

Outstanding Cinematography for A Limited or Anthology Series or Movie

Black Bird • “Hand To Mouth” • Apple TV+ • Apple Studios
Natalie Kingston

Boston Strangler • Hulu • 20th Century Studios
Ben Kutchins

Dead Ringers • One” • Prime Video • AnnaPurna Pictures, Amazon Studios
Jody Lee Lipes, ASC

George & Tammy • “Stand By Your Man” • Showtime • MTV Entertainment Studios, 101 Studios, Freckle Films, Blank Films Inc, Mad Chance, Brolin Productions, Aunt Sylvia’s Moving Picture Company
Igor Martinovic

Guillermo del Toro’s Cabinet of Curiosities • “The Autopsy” • Netflix • Netflix / Double Dare You
Anastas Michos, ASC, GSC

Outstanding Cinematography for a Nonfiction Program

100 Foot Wave • Chapter VI – Force Majeure • HBO Max • HBO Presents, Topic Studios, Library Films, Amplify Pictures
Antoine Chicoye, Mikey Corker, Vincent Kardasik, Alexandre Lesbats, Chris Smith, João Vidinha, Michael Darrigade

Secrets of the Elephants • Desert • National Geographic • Oxford Scientific Films LTD and Earthship Productions for National Geographic
Toby Strong, James Boon, Bob Poole

The 1619 Project • Justice • Hulu • Onyx Collective, Lionsgate Productions in association with One Story Up Productions, Harpo Films and The New York Times
Jerry Henry

Stanley Tucci: Searching For Italy • Calabria • CNN • CNN Original Series, RAW
Andrew Muggletonian

Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie • Apple TV+ • An Apple Original Film in association with Concordia Studio
C. Kim Miles, CSC, ASC, MySC; Clair Popkin; Julia Liu

The Territory • National Geographic • National Geographic Documentary Films Presents a Documist and Associação Jupaú Film in association with Time Studios, Xtr, Doc Society Climate Story Fund / A Production of Protozoa Pictures, Passion Pictures, Real Lava
Alex Pritz, Tangãi Uru-eu-wau-wa

Outstanding Cinematography for a Reality Program

The Amazing Race • Series Body of Work • CBS • WorldRace Productions, Inc.
Joshua Gitersonke, Bryan T. Adams, Kathryn Barrows, Josh Bartel, Kurt Carpenter, David D’Angelo, Matthew Di Girolamo, Adam Haisinger, Robert Howsam, Kevin Johnson, Jay Kaufman, Ian Kerr, CSC, Daniel Long, Lucas Kenna Mertes, Ryan Shaw Alan Weeks

Deadliest Catch • “Call of a New Generation” • Discovery Channel • Original Productions, LLC for the Discovery Channel
David Reichert, Charlie Beck, Bryan Miller, Todd Stanley, Shane Moore, Nathan Garofalos, David Arnold

Life Below Zero • “The Pursuit” • National Geographic • BBC Studios
Danny Day, Simeon Houtman, Jason Hubbell, Ben Mullin, Zach Vincent

Survivor • Series Body of Work • CBS • MGM Television
Peter Wery, Scott Duncan, Russ Fill, George Andrews, Tim Barker, Marc Bennett, Paulo Castillo, Rodney Chauvin, Chris Ellison, Nixon George, Matthias Hoffmann, Toby Hogan, Derek Holt, Efrain “Mofi” Laguna, Ian Miller, Nico Nyoni, Paul Peddinghaus, Jeff Phillips, Nejc Poberaj, Daniel Powell, Louis Powell, Jovan Sales, Erick Sarmiento, Dirk Steyn, John Tattersall, Holly Thompson, Paulo Velozo, Cullum Andrews, Christopher Barker, Granger Scholtz, Nic Van Der Westhuizen, Dwight Winston

Welcome To Wrexham • “Do or Die” • FX • Boardwalk Pictures
Alastair McKevitt, Craig Hastings, Leighton Cox, Jason Bulley

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

July 2024 AC Magazine Cover
June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover